VP Calendar
Bookmark and Share
Definitions and Terms US & Canadian Holidays
Days Between Dates

Calendar Comparisons

Calendars by Weekdays

Day of the Year

This Day In History

Day of the Year - Leap Year

Table of Seasons

Zodiac Calendar

Time Units

Calendar Comparisons

Julian vs Gregorian

Millenniums & Centuries







Holiday Determination

Holidays Trivia Quiz

The Liturgical Calendar

The Liturgical Calendar or Year is like a regular calendar that has 4 seasons, 12 months, 52 weeks and 365 days including holidays, solemn days, celebration days, and ordinary days. According to Catholics, the Liturgical year celebrates the Paschal Mystery, specifically focusing on the Easter (Christ's death and resurrection) and Christmas (Christ's nativity) cycles. It is also marked by other special seasons such as Lent and Advent. The Liturgical Calendar starts usually at the beginning of December (sometimes end of November) on the first Sunday of Advent, which is the countdown to Christmas (see article on Advent Calendar). The calendar ends on the feast of "Christ the King." The real purpose of the Liturgical Calendar is not really for marking the passage of time. Its purpose is to glorify, celebrate and understand the mystery of Christ, beginning from his birth and incarnation until his ascension, which relates to Christ's rising from earth to heaven after the Resurrection. Furthermore, the calendar notifies its followers about the specific readings the Church designates to be used for each day. The special feasts and commemorations that are to be celebrated in every season are also listed one week at a time. Also, the places on the calendar that have a small colored cross represent the priest's vestments that will be worn during each event of the liturgy.

White - color of joy and victory. Used during Easter and Christmas, and feasts of the Lord, for Mary, angels, and saints.

Red - (represents blood) used to celebrate Jesus' Passion on Passion Sunday and Good Friday. Also, it is used for birthday feasts of apostle, evangelists and celebrations of martyrs. Red is also known as the color of fire and is used on Pentecost for the sacrament of Confirmation.

Green - symbolizes life, hope and growth. It is seen in plants and trees, especially during Christmas and Advent. It is also used during Ordinary Time.

Violet/Purple - During Advent, these colors help Catholics remember that they are preparing for Christ's arrival. Lent also uses violet or purple because it is the season of renewal and atonement.

Rose - expresses joy of waiting for Christmas and Easter. The color rose may be used on Advent's 3rd Sunday, Guadete Sunday, and the 4th Sunday of Lent, Laetare Sunday.

19th Century

20th Century

21st Century

Leap Years

VP Calendar on Twitter | VP Calendar on Facebook | Terms of Use

Copyright © 2004 - 2011; VPCalendar.net - All rights reserved.